David Morris: Jacobson articles

[From David Morris]

I’m attaching the Jacobson articles on home to send to the group. Some notes that we could transmit too:

I thought these articles by Jacobson would be helpful, given our discussions of home and doorways, especially the article on agoraphobia (if people had time to read just one of the two articles, it should be this one.)

I think the home and doorways focus might be helpful for us. What is it about leaving through doorways that conduces forgetting, what is it about entering doorways that conduces remembering? Leaving home can mean: leaving the past. Returning home can mean: returning to the past. But note that not every physical leaving a room is a forgetting or leaving behind: when I go to the photocopier outside my office, I am still very much involved with what I am working on in my office.

Note that focusing on the doorway issue does two things for us: 1) It turns us away from bigger and harder to ‘manipulate’ dimensions of place, to smaller and easier to ‘manipulate’ issues of moving transitions between places, as shaped by joint architectural-bodily structures. 2) It gives  a temporal dimension to our investigation, the rhythm and speed of leaving and entering. If I slowly wander out of my office, maybe this keeps me more in it; if I slowly wander from my doorstep to the depanneur, maybe I am more at home still, than if I sharply run out to get a bottle of wine. If a projected doorway slowly drifts past me, maybe I am still in the room. Etc.

David